Seasonal Rites

The pagan holidays are divided into Nature Festivals and Solar Rites.

The Solar Rites
fall upon the Equinoxes and Solstices.

The times between these festivals are almost equal.

It works out that there are
six weeks from Solar to a Nature Festival
and seven weeks from Nature Festival to Solar Rite.

This makes four equal divisions
of thirteen weeks in the year.

These form the structure for one type of a very Basic Pagan calendar.

This is one of the reasons why the number 13 is associated with paganism and witches.

The Fire Festivals are:

Embolic or Oimelc ( February 2)

Beltaine/May Day (April 30 to May 1)

Laghnasad/Lammas (August 1 to 2)

Samhaine/Halloween (October 31)

The Solar Rites are: 

Winter Solstice (December 21 or 22)

The Vernal Equinox (March 21 or 22)

Summer Solstice (June 21)

Autumnal Equinox (September 22 or 23) 

previous.gif - 277 Bytes

All Company Trademarks and/or ©Copyrights used on our pages are the property of their owners.

Any problems with this web page should be directed to TCC Webmistress

© 2001 The Crones Corner